Vacation Mission: Cali-Stylin’ Part 2

Today was a long, hard, vacation planning day!  Poor me, I know.  I would want to slap me too.  Anaheim/Disneyland is part 1 of our trip.  Beach/LEGOLAND is Part 2.  I started this day thinking that after all of yesterday’s research, I had finally picked the perfect place for part 2!  First thing this morning, feeling super proud of myself, Bam! I made the reservation.  Then something caught my eye and I looked closer at the ‘resort’ which turned out to be very disappointing based on the guest’s photos.  Question:  How could I have possibly made an uninformed decision?  Answer: If you are trying to sell something you don’t point out the flaws!

So today, roughly 30 minutes after making the reservation I decided to cancel it.  Then I spent my second full day of really important research feeling like I was never going to get the place I wanted for the price I wanted.  Finally I went back to Vacation Rentals By Owner which I dismissed early in yesterday’s research for reasons I don’t remember.

Coming from a cold wintry wonderland we really wanted to make sure the kids got to experience the beach.  We were adamant that we had a place ON THE BEACH.  Then started thinking about how much salt water sucks when you aren’t used to it and wave after wave knocks you down.  Eyes burn, nose burns, can’t taste anything but salt, sand in the bum.  Maybe that won’t be awesome, maybe that’s a novelty.  Should probably have a decent pool if the kids hate the beach.  Should NOT stay on the beach.  Have I mentioned I’m an over-thinker?

Regrouped and decided on a place I found on VRBO which is at worst a time share but at best a legit condominium complex.  Pool, beach, kitchen, YAY!  Let’s hope they accept my request…  By the way LEGOLAND Hotel, be reasonable to us little people (a.k.a. minions).  Are you kidding me?  Try to remember who keeps you in business.  I suppose it’s similar to the shaft we get on the purchase price of Legos (which we keep buying).  Maybe they are in fact – marketing geniuses.  – TJ

Hotel

Leave a Reply

